How do I clear the Jing history without deleting uploaded files?
Deleting items in your Jing History will also remove the item from the Share / Saved location. When attempting to do this Jing will warn you with this message:
To safely clear your Jing History without removing any uploaded files, please disconnect your Network Connection so that you are not online and then delete your Jing History files.
This method will delete any captures you've saved on your hard drive.
You can delete the Jing Datastore folder from your hard drive. This will clear your Jing History items without deleting uploaded or saved captures. To do this, please follow these steps.
- Quit Jing (make sure it is not running in you task manager under the Processes tab).
- Please navigate to the following location:
Windows 7 / 8 /10: C:\ Users \ Your User Name \ AppData \ Local \ TechSmith \ Jing
Mac OS X: //users / Your User Name / Library / Application Support / TechSmith / Jing / Bin
- Delete the Datastore folder
- Now launch Jing and your History will be empty, but your uploaded and saved captures are preserved.