Content Privacy Levels

There are four levels of privacy that may be applied to folders or playlists: Public, Hidden, Password Protected, and Authenticated. These four levels are intended to offer flexible sharing options while making sure content is available to your target audience.

Individual content files that are not located in a folder are always public. This means anyone with the URL to your library page can view content files that are not in folders, and any public folders or playlists. Screencast.com allows content contained in public folders to be indexed by search engines.

 

Library Icon Privacy Level Properties

Public

  • Anyone with the link to your library can view public folders and playlists
Hidden
  • Viewers must have the URL to see content
  • Default privacy setting for new folders and playlists
  • Does not appear in your library
Password
  • Viewers must have the URL and enter a password that is set by the owner to see content
  • Does not appear in your library
Authenticated
  • Highest level of privacy
  • Owners invite viewers by sending an email from the Screencast.com Share dialog
  • Viewers must have a Screencast.com account and log in via the link they receive in the invitation to receive access to the folder or playlist

Change the Privacy Level of a Folder or Playlist

  1. Hover over a folder or playlist in the list, click the gear icon, and choose Edit.
  2. In the Edit dialog, select the Privacy tab and choose a setting.
  3. Click Save.

 

Did you find the help you were looking for? Provide feedback

Was this article helpful?
7 out of 9 found this helpful