Timeline Overview

The timeline displays the sequence of all media in a video. Use the timeline to assemble a video.

 

Add Content to a Video

Drag media from the Media or Library tab onto the timeline.

 

As you make edits on the timeline, the Media Bin always maintains the original version of your media. To learn more managing media in your video, see Organize Media in Camtasia.

 

Preview a Video

The playhead location represents a point in time in the video. All media at that point on the timeline tracks display as the current frame on the canvas.

Preview a Frame

Drag the playhead to the desired position on the timeline. Camtasia displays the frame on the canvas.

Preview Video

Drag the playhead to the desired position on the timeline. Click Play to preview the video.

Preview One Track (Solo Track) Mac Only

Option+click the Disable Track icon Lock Track to the left of the track. Camtasia hides all other tracks from the preview.

If you export the video, only the solo tracks are exported in the video.

Timeline Tracks

Track Order

For visual media on the timeline, the track order controls the z-order position for media in a video.

To reorder tracks (Mac only), click the track name and drag to a new position on the timeline.

Detach Timeline

Detach the timeline to view more tracks at a time or to move to another monitor for precise editing. Select View > Timeline > Detach Timeline or press Ctrl+3 (Windows) or Command+3 (Mac).

Change the Track Size (Track Height)

To resize all tracks, drag the track slider.
Increase All Track Heights

To resize only one track, drag the border between tracks up or down.
Increase Track Height

Add a Track

An unlimited number of tracks can be added to the timeline.

Complete any of the following to add a track:

  • Click Plus Icon to add a track to the timeline.
  • Drag and drop media from the Media or Library tab onto the "blank" area on the timeline.
  • Right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac) a track and select Insert Track > Above or Below.

Remove a Track

  • Right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac) a track name and select Remove Track.
  • Right-click (Windows) or Control-click (Mac) a track name and select Remove All Empty Tracks.
Scroll through Tracks

If there are several tracks on the timeline, use the scroll bar on the right side of the timeline to view unseen tracks.
Scroll Tracks

Rename a Track Double-click the track name and type.

Lock / Unlock Track

Lock a track to prevent editing or other changes to the media on the track.

Lock a Track
Click the lock icon Lock Track to the left of the track.

The icon turns white and the track dims with a lined effect to indicate the track is locked.
Track is Locked

 

Unlock a Track
Click the white lock icon to the left of the track. The icon turns gray and the track brightens to indicate the track in unlocked.

 

About Locked Tracks

  • Media on a locked track appears on the canvas, preview, and the final, exported video.
  • Media on locked tracks is included in the video during the production process.
  • Tracks in a group on Mac cannot be locked.
  • Media on a locked track cannot be cut, copied, deleted, pasted, or modified in any way.

Enable / Disable Track

Disable a track to prevent media from appearing in the canvas, preview, or the final video.

Turn a Track Off
Click the eye icon Turn Off Icon to the left of the track.

The icon turns white and the track dims to indicate the track is off.

 

Turn a Track On
Click the white eye icon to the left of the track.

The icon turns gray and the track brightens to indicate the track is active.

 

About Turned Off Tracks

  • Media on turned off tracks is not included in the video during the production process.
  • Turn off a track to sample various audio clips. For example, to hear only the background music on a track without the voice-over track, turn off the voice-over track.
  • Media on a turned off track cannot be cut, copied, deleted, pasted, etc.

Enable / Disable Magnetic Track

Automatically remove spaces between media on a track to insert or rearrange media on the timeline.

Enable Magnetic Track
Click the magnet icon Magnetic Icon to the left of the track.

Spaces between media are automatically removed.
Magnetic Track Enabled

 

Disable Magnetic Track
Click the magnet icon Magnetic Icon to the left of the track.

Spaces can be added between media on the track.

 

About Magnetic Tracks

  • You can move media on the track but cannot add space between media after you enable the Magnetic Track.

  • Groups on Magnetic Tracks keep spaces between media on Windows.
  • The Insert Time option is disabled for magnetic tracks.

To learn about common timeline editing tasks on magnetic tracks, see Basic Timeline Editing.

Show / Hide Quiz or Marker View

When a quiz or marker is added to the timeline, the quiz or marker view automatically opens.

Click the Quiz/Marker dropdown and select which tracks to turn on or off.
Choose View

 

This help topic is for Camtasia version 2020. If you have a previous version, upgrade to the latest version of TechSmith Camtasia or view the help for another version in the Previous Versions section.

 

Did you find what you were looking for? Provide feedback.