Knowmia FAQ

Knowmia Help Content

 

Product Usage FAQ:

 

Billing FAQ:

Product Usage FAQ

 

Who is Knowmia for?

Knowmia is great for teachers, educators, trainers or anyone that needs to create or host video or image content for asynchronous viewing. Content creators can add auto-generated captions that can be edited and checked for ADA compliance. Content owners can also insert in-video quizzes/polls, and track progress with viewer analytics. Viewers can leave time-linked comments or questions on the video timeline, providing a great way to have an asynchronous and engaging conversation within a video!

 

Can I use Knowmia outside the United States?

Knowmia is a browser-based web application that can be used from any location. However, at this time all data is stored on servers located in the United States and the application is only available in English.

 

Do I need Snagit or Camtasia in order to use Knowmia?

No. While Snagit and Camtasia can be used to create content for Knowmia, Knowmia offers a built-in recorder. You can also upload existing videos and images to Knowmia.

 

What file formats can I upload?

Knowmia supports the following video formats (maximum file size of 4GB per file):

  • MP4
  • MOV
  • AVI
  • WMV

 Knowmia supports the following image formats (with minimum height and width of 200 pixels):

  • PNG
  • JPG
  • GIF

 For audio description tracks, Knowmia supports:

 
Workaround for Uploading Unsupported Video File Formats

  • If you have media that does not meet the requirements specified above or that is experiencing issues uploading, please try re-encoding the media using the steps in the following article here.

 

What is the difference between Knowmia and Screencast?

Knowmia and Screencast both provide a way to capture, host and share videos and images. However, Knowmia is a new tool that provides even more functionality to make your content more engaging and accessible for your viewers.


Some of the main capabilities of Knowmia that are not available in Screencast include:

  • Unlimited storage
  • Unlimited bandwidth (subject to the Knowmia Terms of Service)
  • Auto-generated captions
  • Embedded quiz creation and editing
  • Conversations (time-linked commenting)
  • Email notifications for comments
  • Video transcoding (videos that need it will be re-encoded and optimized for better playback
  • Delivered through a CDN (Content Delivery Network) for improved playback performance
  • Multi-seat purchase capability with self-serve license management portal
  • In-product help widget

 
There are a few capabilities that Screencast Pro has that Knowmia Pro currently does not. These include:

  • Passphrase protected media
  • Custom view page templates and branding
  • RSS feeds

 

What are the limits for Knowmia Pro?

Knowmia Pro subscriptions allow for unlimited use of the service, subject to the “excessive use policy” defined in the Knowmia Terms of Service. Although this threshold should not impact most users, if you are someone who’s usage may be affected, please contact our team by filling out this form so we can find a plan that works for you.

 

Can I buy Knowmia Pro for my team?

Yes, Knowmia Pro can be purchased for 2-24 people by contacting our sales team. For teams of 25 or more, Knowmia Enterprise is available with even more capabilities to meet your larger team needs.

 

Why upgrade to Enterprise?

Knowmia Enterprise offers all the great features of Knowmia Pro, but adds even more capabilities that help make using Knowmia an even better experience for a larger team, or an entire educational institution or workplace.

Some of these additional capabilities include:

  • Single Sign-On (SSO)
  • Admin controls
  • Additional privacy and security options
  • LTI integration with several LMS’s (ie. Canvas, Blackboard, Moodle, D2L)
  • Zoom integration
  • Integration with transcription services (ie. 3Play and Verbit)
  • Dedicated Customer Success Manager and on-boarding


For a complete list of Knowmia Pro vs Knowmia Enterprise capabilities, check out this Knowmia Feature Comparison Chart.

 

To connect with someone from our team to learn more, please fill out this contact form and someone will follow-up with you soon!

 

How is Knowmia different from Zoom or Microsoft Teams?

Zoom and Microsoft Teams both provide synchronous (real-time) video conferencing, whereas Knowmia hosts video and images that can be enhanced and shared for asynchronous viewing at a later time.


Billing FAQ

Do you offer a monthly plan?

Yes! There is a monthly subscription plan offered for Knowmia Pro in our web store.

 

What is the refund policy for TechSmith Knowmia Pro?

Annual subscriptions have a 30-day money back guarantee if you are not happy with your purchase for any reason.

Monthly subscriptions have a 14-day return policy.

  

Can my account be transferred to someone else at my organization?

As per the Knowmia Terms of Service, a Knowmia Pro license is non-transferable.

 

How can I update billing for this service?

Yes, this can be done by updating your information in MyAccount.

 

How will I be charged for future renewals?

All subscriptions for Knowmia Pro will automatically renew at the current MSRP, unless the subscription has been cancelled by the user in MyAccount prior to the renewal date.

 

Is there Education or Government pricing for Knowmia?

We do not currently have special Knowmia pricing for Education or Government customers.

 

What happens to my content if I am no longer a paid subscriber or my trial ends?

Upon completion of a free 30-day trial of Knowmia Pro, or upon cancellation of an account with the return window (14 days for monthly or 30 days for annual), the following will happen:

  • The user will no longer be able to access their media library or upload/create new content.
  • The user is alerted that their content will be permanently deleted in 60 days if no action is taken.
  • If the user reactivates their account before 60 days have passed, they can restore their content upon account reactivation.


If a user cancels their Knowmia subscription after the return window:

  • The user will still have full access to the service through the end of their billing period.
  • At the end of their billing period, the user will no longer be able to access their media library or upload/create new content
  • The user is alerted that their content will be permanently deleted in 60 days if no action is taken.
  • If the user reactivates their account before 60 days have passed, they can restore their content upon account reactivation.