Sharing a collection in Knowmia

Comments

4 comments

  • Paul Donahue
    Hi Peter,

    Thank you for your question on this and for laying out your scenario so clearly. The team and I have been discussing this throughout the day and agree that the current functionality and wording is confusing. Right now in Knowmia Pro the only way to obtain a sharing link is by setting the privacy of the collection to "Only people with the link" as seen below.



    For me the most confusing part was our privacy option of "By invite only" which if you choose it puts you in a state where you cannot invite individuals. This invitation mechanism is something the team and I will continue exploring and consider for the future.

    As for your scenario right now, I recommend setting the privacy level of the collection to "Only people with the link" and then sharing that link with the folks taking your course. The permissions to view the media are set at the media level. If you want to lock access to individual items you can do that from the media view page. As for identifying who is watching your modules, if you have not already done so, I would recommend adding a quiz to each media. Even if you add no questions you can choose the "Gather viewer's name and email address" option as shown in this screenshot.



    Once you save the quiz with this option checked, whenever a viewer goes to view the media they will be prompted to identify themselves. The data they provide will show up in the media analytics tab.

    I hope this is helpful, and thank you again for pointing out this confusion. We will be working to make it clearer in the future.
    0
  • Paul Donahue
    Hi Peter,

    The invitation mechanism my team and I are discussing could help with this concern in the future.

    As for right now you have a couple of options. The first involves following the suggestion in my post above to have each media item prompt the viewer for their information and then looking over the analytics for any anomalies such as views by unrecognized names or several instances of someone with the same name (if the illegitimate user decided to impersonate the link forwarder.) This option is probably only palatable if you have a reasonably small number of followers of the collection.

    The second option will work better for a larger number of followers but only if there are specific time windows in which they could follow the collection. For this scenario you could set the privacy of the group to "Only people with the link" for a period of time to allow folks you invite to join / follow that collection. Once they have all followed (and show up in the members tab) you could then set the privacy of the collection to "Only you" (we renamed "By invite only" to this.) This would in effect prevent anyone else who follows the originally shared link from being able to follow the collection.

    I hope these scenarios are helpful.
    Best Regards
    0
  • Peter F
    Thanks for the detailed reply - very helpful. My main concern is that I do not want someone receiving the link giving it to all their contacts and so they get access to the course without being subscribers. Is there a way I can protect the course from unauthorised access?
    0
  • Peter F
    Thanks - a good workaround as an interim solution. Thanks.
    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.