The TechSmith User Community is closing on January 3rd, 2024, and the ability to create new posts or add comments has been disabled. To learn more about alternative support options, visit our Support Center. Product feedback can be submitted here.

Speed up Preview/Edit

Comments

20 comments

  • eshuh

    Kayakman: Like William, I am interested in being able to quickly preview my project but before producing it. The only way I can think of to speed up playback while in the editing mode is to set the clip speed higher for the whole project and then change it back to 1x before producing. Are there other options? 

    I am a newbie to all of this and don't have time to listen to every class video I am producing at regular speed (since I am editing I am listening over and over anyway--I am already about to go nuts). Just want a final check to make sure nothing unexpected happened in the final edits.

    2
  • griffeth.jim

    Okay TechSmith - how about replying to this thread? I have the same challenge. Playing my video at 1x while editing instead of say 1.5 or 2x literally adds hours to editing a long video.

    2
  • kayakman
    Expert Camtasia User

    originally posted 1 month ago ...

    How To Fast Preview Timeline While Making Quick Edits 2020-12-03
    https://www.screencast.com/t/cQKngqjDuvN

    How To Fast Preview Timeline While Editing Multi Track Projects 2020-12-04
    https://www.screencast.com/t/fZEcUYHEJ9Gi

    0
  • kayakman
    Expert Camtasia User

    here is another method for fast previewing a project; can be useful for long duration projects ...

    How To Fast Preview Project Using Clip Speed And 1 Frame Per Second Stand-In Video 2021-05-06
    https://www.screencast.com/t/McM8Hbd8G

     

    0
  • marshallrh

    The above techniques are too clunky for a multi-clip project.

    I exported the whole project to mp4 and used the VLC speed-up feature (press + or -) to look for parts that needed editing in the Camtasia project project. 

    Would be good to have a speed preview. SOM has it.

    2
  • Nick

    I would love a speed preview too - bored of my own voice!

    1
  • claire.smuts

    Goodness gracious, can't believe this hasn't been implemented. Would speed up my work big time!

    2
  • Arek

    +1 my vote for this feature.
    It could be very helpful even in som kind of preview / reduced quality mode.

    Please TechSmith thinks about it. Will be appreciated.

     

    1
  • Oren

    +1 for me!

    Although it doesn't seem like TechSmith are into solving these feature, which seems very essential. 

    1
  • Info

    +1 for me too!

    0
  • danny

    Yes please - this would massively speed up my editing process

    0
  • lochness8

    Please techsmith, make this happen. I'm editing my video now and it's pretty frustrating without this feature. I'm, plussing this 1000 times!

    1
  • FC

    Same here. I have a very complex and 3hr long multi-track project that I need to edit. A fast preview would massively speed up the workflow!

    0
  • kayakman
    Expert Camtasia User

    this thread is mostly about a feature request for fast project preview, so I suggest it be re-posted to this forum section

    https://support.techsmith.com/hc/en-us/community/topics/360001699412-Camtasia-Feedback-Feature-Requests

    0
  • Paul Houghton

    I have the need for this capability too. Whilst exporting and previewing in another application is the work around I'm going to use, it would be really helpful to have this capability in Camtasia to allow me to quickly review that my edits and content is all present.

    0
  • kayakman
    Expert Camtasia User

    A straightforward fast timeline preview function in Camtasia would undoubtably be helpful to many; but since it's not yet available, perhaps try this quick and effective workaround ...

    Walkthrough - Fast Preview Timeline Using Proxy MP4 And Clip Speed To Mark Off Edit Locations 2022-11-12
    https://www.screencast.com/t/RywPgWMRl

    0
  • Giovanni Tummarello

    kayakman it would be great if you could confirm the team is aware of this and it is prioritized. It's a really important one. Same here having to edit 2 hours videos.

    0
  • Here's Johnny

    Giovanni Tummarello

    Brooks, the technical product manager for Camtasia posted this in the Camtasia feature request feedback forum over 2 years ago................

    J K L are the standard shortcut keys for variable speed , fast forward and reverse playback. 

    What was not defined is how many years this multi year upgrade is expected to take. He hasn't posted an update since.

    1
  • gustavo

    Hello! This featured is already available on newer versions of Camtasia?

    I am thinking about udpating. It's the only feature I really miss?

    Anyone have some information about it?

    0
  • Here's Johnny

    To date 3/15/2022, its not a feature Camtasia offers..

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.