Problem with Snagit Helper - keychain password??

Answered

Comments

8 comments

  • Official comment
    Robert R.

    Hi Daniel!

    So glad to hear the issue was resolved and thank you for updating the thread with the solution as there may be others out there that are running into similar problems.

    Thanks again and feel free to pop on by if you run into any more hiccups!

    -Robert

  • Daniel Meyer

    Hi Robert, I'm running Snagit 2021, all updates installed. It started popping up after the last patch update I received from TechSmith. I reviewed the Keychain Access support article and it didn't help me but I used the link to the Apple support article. Although the Apple Support article also didn't help, it got me to the right place where I was able to begin poking around in the Keychain app. From there I selected Login, and All Items under Category. I scrolled to find the TechSmith Snagit 2021 listing. I double clicked on it to open it, I then selected Show Password, it then prompted me to then enter the password - Same dialog that kept popping up for me upon boot up but never accepting my password. Here though, I entered my Password and it accepted it. (Reminder, previous bootup Snagit popups I always had to select Deny because it never accepted my password). Now after it accepted my Password, I decided to power off and restart to see if it popped up again. It did, but this time when I entered the password it accepted it, and it only prompted me once versus the multiple prompt and deny routine I was experiencing before. So somehow I think this resolved my issue. Not sure if the boot up popup was just not working correctly and I needed to resync it by going directly to Keychain or something different. Either way I am happy and the issue has been resolved. Thank you and I appreciate the follow up as your recommendation sent me down the road I needed. - dan

    1
  • Luke Griffioen

    Hi,

    The password that you will need for that dialog is your computer's password. This is allowing SnagitHelper to have access to your Techsmith account that the Snagit editor app saved to the system keychain. You can also choose to deny it if you don't need to share to Screencast or Knowmia with preview in editor turned off. I hope this helps resolve the issue!

    0
  • Daniel Meyer

    I am having the same problem. Entering computer password doesn't do anything. It doesn't recognize any passwords for Keychain. I don't use Screencast or Knowmia, so possibly that is why it just keep giving me a negative response. But this pops up with every reboot. Is there a way to turn off this verification so I do not need to keep hitting Deny?

    0
  • Robert R.

    Hi Daniel, 

    What version of Snagit are you currently using? What version of MacOS are you currently running? Have you followed the steps listed in our Snagit Keychain Access support article?

    -Robert

    0
  • jude kaider

    Hi, Robert. Maybe I'm dumb and you can explain what I'm missing. I'm running MacOS 10.14.6 and Snagit Version 2021.3.0 (98037). I don't boot very often but recently when I do I have been getting the above message about TechSmith wanting access to KeyChain Access.app. I always deny it and, to date, it hasn't affected my use of Snagit.

    It's not that I don't trust TechSmith, in particular. It's more that I don't trust anyone. Additionally, even though I have a background in IT, I find that popup request confusing, a bit intimidating, and not the least, creepy. (I don't recall any other app/vendor making such a request.)

    I rebooted a short time ago and before I could respond to the TechSmith request, a few other popups appeared from my OS and they covered TechSmith's. By the time I responded to the others, the TechSmith popup had disappeared before I could respond to it. Now I don't know if TechSmith/Apple just assumed I'm allowing access to my Keychain or assumed I denied it.

    In any event, can't TechSmith store whatever information it wants from my Keychain elsewhere, like in its own file structure, so that paranoids like me can sleep at night? Thanks in advance!

    0
  • Luke Griffioen

    Hi Jude,

    The way Apple's keychain works is that any app can write secure information to it, and read it back out, but any other app that tries to access information will be forced to show that prompt to gain read access. For most apps this is not an issue, but in Snagit's case we have 2 apps: the editor and the capture helper. If you sign into the editor, the capture helper will need permission from you to access what the editor stored in the keychain and vice versa. So although these alerts may be annoying or creepy, I can assure you we're just sharing between our own 2 apps.

    Although we could save your login information outside of the keychain, that would open up potential security issues that could result in compromised accounts, so we'd like to avoid that. That said, we understand that this is not an ideal situation and we're looking at ways to improve this so that prompts happen less often.

    I hope this helps clear up some of the questions you have.

    ---

    Luke Griffioen

    Senior Engineer, Snagit Mac

    0
  • jude kaider

    Hi, Luke. Thanks for the quick reply. Your explanation makes sense. It would be nice if a condensed version of your reply could appear in the Keychain popup so as to avoid questions like mine but I guess that would be stepping on Apple's toes. Thanks, again!

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.