How Do I Assign and Revoke Seats for Products in My Subscription?

After purchasing a subscription to TechSmith Video Review, Assets for Camtasia, or Assets for Snagit, you can manage your subscription on the TechSmith subscription management portal.

Use the Seat management tab to:

self-service_management_seat_management.png


View Seats

You can view the status of the seats for each product in your subscription.

  1. Go to the TechSmith subscription management portal and sign in to your TechSmith account.
  2. Click the Seat management tab.
  3. For each product, view the following.
    self-service_management_seats.png
    • Total seats—Number of users who can access and use the product.
    • Available—Number of seats that are vacant at the moment and can be assigned to users.
    • Assigned—Number of seats that are already granted to the users.

If the number of seats is N/A, this means that the system is in the process of assigning seats. Try refreshing the page after a couple of minutes.

After a product is added to a subscription, one product seat is automatically assigned to you. By revoking the assigned seat, you can make it available for a different user.


Assign a Seat

You can assign all available product seats to your team members.

  1. Go to the TechSmith subscription management portal and sign in to your TechSmith account.
  2. Click the Seat management tab, and then select a product.
  3. Make sure that there are enough Available seats left.
    If the number of available seats is too small, you can revoke the already assigned seats or contact our Sales team to purchase more seats.
  4. Enter the email addresses of the new users who need access to the product, separated by a semicolon (;).
    self-service_management_add_emails.png
  5. Click Add, and then wait while the system verifies the email addresses for the seat assignments.
    self-service_management_add.png
  6. Click Assign seats. Please do not close the page until the seats have been assigned.
    self-service_management_assign_seats.png
    The system updates the seat assignments and the number of Available seats. Your team members with the Assigned seat status can start using the product at once.
    self-service_management_assigned_seats.png

    If a seat has an Error status, it could not be assigned to a user because there are no more available seats. To purchase more seats, please contact our Sales team.
    self-service_management_seat_error2.png.

  7. Notify the assignees that they can start using the product.

Revoke a Seat

If a user doesn't need a product anymore, you can revoke the product seat for the user, and then assign the seat to another team member.

  1. Go to the TechSmith subscription management portal and sign in to your TechSmith account.
  2. Click the Seat management tab, and then select a product.
  3. Next to the user's email, click self-service_management_revoke_access_icon.png.
    self-service_management_revoke_seat.png
  4. Click Revoke to confirm that you need to remove product access for this user.
    self-service_management_renvoke_access_conformation.png
  5. Notify the user that they cannot access the product anymore.
  6. Assign the now available seat to another team member.
    self-service_management_seat_revoked.png

 

 

← back to top

 

 

Did you find what you were looking for? Provide feedback.